Text Resize A A A


Since its inception in 1945 the Division 819 Transit Employees Credit Union (D819TECU) has been serving its members in the IRVINGTON, New Jersey area with exceptional financial products. You can find their current interest rates on used car loans, new car loans,  and personal loans [Click Here]  Currently led by Shirley King, D819TECU  has grown its membership to over 1,810 with assets of more than $19,377,494. They have a main office and 1 branch offices. .

Membership: The credit union is a member-owned financial cooperative providing banking services including savings, loans, and other financial services to members. Membership is also open to immediate family of current members.

D819TECU has as its mission the responsibility for providing an efficient, effective, and well-managed financial institution that meets the needs of its membership. In order to accomplish this mission, the D819TECU will continue a sound yet progressive asset management strategy and provide new and improved financial services to current and future members through membership input and management initiatives.

History and Structure

About the Local 819 Union itself

Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) Local 819 the largest ATU Local in the state of New Jersey. Over 2,000 New Jersey Transit active members including operators, clerical workers, mechanics and other maintenance workers, light rail, skilled project laborers, and field salary employees and retirees throughout New Jersey and Monroe County, Pennsylvania. Local 819 represents its members in disputes with management including but not limited to disciplinary cases as well as making sure the employer adheres to the provisions in the collective bargaining agreement. Local 819 is a member of the New Jersey State Council and the AFL-CIO. https://www.atulocal819.org/local-819

About the Credit Union

D819TECU is a voluntary, nonprofit, cooperative association of individuals sharing a common employment bond as defined by our field of membership. Each member is an owner of the Credit Union and is entitled to a single vote regarding the business of the Credit Union. The D819TECU  was chartered in 1945. The Credit Union was established to provide Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) Local 819 employees and family members a means to save and borrow money.

Each year Members gather at the Annual Meeting to elect our Board of Directors from the Membership and to conduct other such business as may be brought to the meeting’s attention.  The Board of Directors elect their own officers from the group that the Membership elects to serve as directors. Our officers consist of Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer. The Board is ultimately responsible for the success of the Credit Union and sets Credit Union policy. The Board appoints the Supervisory Committee and hires the President.

The Board is directly responsible to the Membership. The Supervisory Committee reports to the Board and auditors after reviewing the reports and work of the credit union staff. While it is appointed by the Board from the Credit Union’s Membership, it too is directly responsible to the Membership. The Committee is responsible for regulatory and procedural compliance and Credit Union safety and soundness. The Credit Union President is hired by the Board of Directors. The President reports directly to the Board. The President is responsible for the execution of the Board’s directions in the daily operations of the Credit Union and in meeting Members’ expectations. The President hires and manages the performance of all staff for the benefit of the Membership.

Loading… Loading…
Loan Calculator